Submarines Active

Indian Navy Submarines

Kalvari Class

INS Kalvari is the first of the six Scorpene class submarines built under Project 75.The Submarine was commissioned on 14 December 2017.

List of Kalvari Class
Name Pennant No. Date of Commission
Kalvari S 21 14 Dec 2017
Khanderi S.22 28 Sep 2019
Karanj S 23 10 Mar 2021
Vela S 24 25 Nov 2021

Sindhughosh Class

Sindhughosh class submarines are the Kilo class diesel-electric submarines. They are designated 877EKM, and were built under a contract between Rosvooruzhenie and the Ministry of Defence (India).

The submarines have a displacement of 3,000 tonnes, a maximum diving depth of 300 meters, top speed of 18 knots, and are able to operate solo for 45 days with a crew of 53.

List of Sindhughosh Class
Name Pennant No Date of Commission
Sindhugosh S 55 30 Apr 1986
Sindhudhvaj S 56 12 Jun 1987
Sindhuraj S 57 20 Oct 1987
Sindhuratna S 59 22 Dec 1988
Sindhukesari S 60 16 Feb 1989
Sindhukirti S 61 04 Jan 1990
Sindhuvijay S 62 08 Mar 1991
Sindhushashtra S 65 19 Jul 2000

Shishumar Class

The Shishumar class vessels (Type 1500) are diesel-electric submarines..These submarines are developed by the German yard Howaldtswerke-Deutsche Werft (HDW).The first two of these vessels were built by HDW at Kiel, while the remainder have been built at Mazagon Dock Limited (MDL) Mumbai. The ships were commissioned between 1986 and 1994. These submarines have a displacement of 1660 tons when surfaced, a speed of 22 knots (41 km/h), and a complement of 40 including eight officers. The submarines has the provision of an IKL-designed escape system.

List of Shishumar Class
Name Pennant No. Date of Commissioning
Shishumar S 44 22 Sep 1986
Shankush S 45 20 Nov 1986
Shalki S 46 07 Feb 1992
Shankul S 47 28 May 1994

NOTE:-All Submarines are prefixed with letters 'INS' when being referred to by their Indian Navy designated Names

Back to Top